Happy New Year

2014 was the year I torched my so-called career in civil service. They gave me the choice of giving up teaching at HACC or giving up occupying a cubicle and being abused day after day. It was a tough call. I could either teach, which I love doing, or stay with Commonwealth where I wasn’t accomplishing anything, but I have those great benefits that they keep cutting year after year.

I learned one thing in 2014. Life is far too short to waste it not doing something you enjoy. Earlier this year, I was at the carousel in Hersheypark. When the ride came to a stop, I heard a prerecorded message that said, “Sorry, there are no rerides.”

Day after day, I sat in that cubicle thinking about what I could be doing with my time that was far more worthwhile. Our time is the only thing we truly own and we only get a certain amount. When it’s gone, it’s gone. There are no rerides. If you hate what you’re doing, then get up and do something else. Don’t wait for retirement or for some opportunity that may never come. Make your own opportunities.

In less than three weeks, I’ll be teaching five, possibly six classes at HACC. It’s what I’ve wanted to do for a long time. The price is that I’ll be paying for my own health insurance. It’s totally worth it.

Make 2015 the year you create your own opportunities and chase your passions. Because there are no rerides.

Leave a Reply

